Two JD Welsh Cup matches forfeited following coronavirus cases
9 July 2021

Two JD Welsh Cup matches forfeited following coronavirus cases

Two JD Welsh Cup matches have been forfeited as neither Ton Pentre or Radnor Valley are able to field a team tomorrow following coronavirus cases at the clubs.

Cymru Football App

Follow all the JD Welsh Cup Qualifying Round 1 matches with live updates in the Cymru Football App on your smart devices.

Visit your app store to download it now: 

Both clubs confirmed to the FAW on Friday that they are unable to fulfil their matches on Saturday, following positive cases of at least one player, which has resulted in the majority of the squads being forced to self-isolate.

The FAW National Cup Board have met and awarded the ties to their opponents, Pencoed Athletic and Presteigne St Andrews respectively.

FAW Head of Competitions Andrew Howard said, "The Board have determined that any club unable to field a team on the Conference Date of an FAW Cup Competition, will forfeit the match and their opponents will be awarded the tie.

"These Covid-19 cases highlight the continuing threat of disruption to our competitions, particularly given the current levels of transmission of the delta-variant of the virus throughout the country.

"The Board were sympathetic to the situation and wished those affected a full and speedy recovery.”

One of the preventative measures to contain the spread of the virus this weekend is the continued prohibition of the use of changing rooms. The increased risk of transmission of indoor activity, is as much as 20 times higher compared to outdoor activity and the ability of a football squad to socially distance in small, poorly ventilated dressing rooms is deemed a significant risk.

All Qualifying Round 1 matches will be played this weekend, with the Qualifying Round 2 draw scheduled for Monday. The Qualifying Round 2 matches will be played over the weekend of 23/24 July.


JD Welsh Cup Qualifying Round 1 Fixtures


Friday 9 July

  • Blaenrhondda AFC v Ynyshir Albions FC (6:30pm)
  • Cardiff Corinthians FC v Canton Liberal FC (7:15pm at Leckwith Stadium)
  • CPD Y Rhyl 1879 FC v Rhyl Dragons FC (7 :00pm)
  • Croesyceiliog AFC v Abertillery Bluebirds AFC (7:30pm)
  • Llysfaen FC v Gwalchmai FC (7:30pm, at Colwyn Bay FC)


Saturday 10 July (2pm Kick-Off)

  • Aber Valley FC v Tredegar Town FC
  • Aberaeron FC v Borth United FC
  • Aberdare Town FC v Cwmbach Royal Stars FC
  • Aberfan FC v Vale United FC
  • Abergavenny Town FC v New Inn FC
  • Abermule FC v Four Crosses FC
  • Abertillery Excelsiors FC v Pentwynmawr Athletic AFC
  • AC Pontymister FC v Pill YMCA FC
  • AFC Penrhiwceiber FC v Penrhiwceiber Rangers AFC
  • AFC Porth v Maesteg Park FC
  • Amlwch Town FC v CPD Pentraeth FC
  • Bangor 1876 FC v Menai Bridge Tigers FC
  • Blaenau Ffestiniog Amateurs FC v Meliden FC
  • Bodorgan FC v Bodedern Athletic FC
  • Brecon Corries AFC v Carno FC
  • Caerwys FC v Llanelwy Athletic FC
  • Canton Rangers FC v Aberystwyth Exiles FC
  • Cardiff Airport FC v Cardiff Draconians FC
  • Castell Alun Colts FC v Brickfield Rangers FC
  • Cefn Hengoed FC v Aberbargoed Buds FC
  • Clwb Cymric FC v Bridgend Street FC
  • Coedpoeth United FC v FC Queens Park
  • CPD Cefni FC v Caergybi FC
  • CPD Llanberis FC v Llanrug United FC
  • CPD Llanerch-Y-Medd FC v CPD Aberffraw FC
  • CPD Llannefydd FC v Clwb Pel Droed Llansannan FC
  • CPD Mountain Rangers FC v Nefyn United FC
  • CPD Penrhyndeudraeth FC v Talysarn Celts FC
  • CPD Y Felinheli FC v CPD Mynydd Llandegai FC
  • Cwm Wanderers AFC v Seven Sisters Onllwyn FC
  • Cwmbran Town FC v Monmouth Town FC
  • Dafen Welfare FC v Newcastle Emlyn FC
  • Docks Albion AFC v AFC Whitchurch
  • Dolgellau AA FC v Machynlleth FC
  • Fairwater FC v Ely Rangers FC
  • FC Porthcawl v Baglan Dragons FC
  • FC Tredegar v Machen FC
  • Gaerwen FC v Glantraeth FC
  • Garw SBGC FC v Ton & Gelli BGC FC
  • Gorseinon Athletic AFC v Morriston Town FC
  • Greenfield FC v Rhydymwyn FC
  • Halkyn and Flint Mountain FC v Connahs Quay Town FC
  • Hawarden Rangers v Mynydd Isa Spartans FC
  • Hay St Marys FC v Knighton Town FC
  • Henllan FC v Bro Cernyw FC
  • Llanfairfechan Town FC v Llandudno Junction FC
  • Llansantffraid Village FC v Waterloo Rovers FC
  • Merthyr Saints FC v AFC Llwydcoed
  • Montgomery Town FC v Llanymynech FC
  • Mumbles Rangers FC v Penlan Club AFC
  • New Brighton Villa FC v Chirk AAA FC
  • Newport City FC v Caerleon FC
  • Newport Civil Service FC v Newport Corinthians FC
  • Penmaenmawr Phoenix FC v Llandyrnog United FC
  • Penycae FC v Lex XI FC
  • Pontyclun FC v Cefn Cribwr BC
  • Prestatyn Sports FC v NFA FC
  • Pwllheli FC v Llanystumdwy FC
  • Rhayader Town FC v Builth Wells FC
  • Rhos Aelwyd FC v Cefn Mawr Rangers FC
  • Ruabon Rovers FC v Saltney Town FC
  • South Gower FC v Pontarddulais Town FC
  • St Albans AFC v Chepstow Town FC
  • St Asaph City FC v Rhuddlan Town FC
  • Tregaron Turfs FC v Penparcau FC
  • Treharris Athletic Western FC v FC Cwmaman
  • Treowen Stars FC v Panteg AFC
  • Trethomas Bluebirds AFC v Caerphilly Athletic FC
  • Trostre AFC v Evans & Williams FC
  • Tywyn Bryncrug FC v Barmouth and Dyffryn Utd FC
  • Wattsville FC v Rogerstone AFC
  • West End FC v Rockspur FC
  • Ynysddu Welfare FC v Treforest FC
  • Ynysygerwn AFC v Giants Grave FC


Presteigne St Andrews FC awarded tie as Radnor Valley FC unable to fulfil the fixture.

Pencoed Athletic BGC FC awarded tie as Ton Pentre AFC unable to fulfil the fixture.

Porthcawl Town Athletic FC receive a bye following withdrawal of CRC Olympic FC.

Dinas Powys FC receive a bye following withdrawal of Roath Park Rangers.

Bryn Rovers AFC receive a bye following withdrawal of Ystradgynlais AFC.