License Applicants Confirmed for Domestic Women's Leagues Restructure
About FAW
11 January 2021

License Applicants Confirmed for Domestic Women's Leagues Restructure

With a major domestic restructure of the women’s game in Wales currently underway for the 2021/22 season, a total of 37 clubs have applied for the 24 spaces available across the new Tier 1 and 2 leagues. 

In May 2020, the FAW announced ambitious plans to reform the National League (Tier 1) and new regionalised northern and southern leagues at Tier 2. 

A key function of the re-structure has been introducing an open application process to determine the clubs who will be granted a place in the new pyramid that will best support the FAW’s aims for the development of the domestic game. 

Fifteen clubs have applied for the eight Tier 1 spaces and a further 22 clubs have submitted applications for the 16 available spaces in Tier 2, with eight places in each of the northern and southern leagues.  

Lowri Roberts, Head of Women’s & Girls’ Football, said: “It’s exciting to see so many clubs engage with this process and share our vision for the domestic game. 

“It’s incredibly important for the growth of the game that this process is competitive in order to release the potential of our ambitious clubs to not only improve themselves on and off the pitch, but to also assist in driving forward the development of the female provision across Wales.” 

The confirmed applicants are as follows:

Tier 1 (15 applicants)

  • Abergavenny 
  • Aberystwyth Town
  • Barry Town United
  • Briton Ferry Llansawel 
  • Caldicot Town
  • Cardiff Bluebelles
  • Cardiff City
  • Cardiff Met
  • Cascade YC
  • Cyncoed 
  • Merthyr Town
  • Port Talbot 
  • Swansea City 
  • Swansea University 
  • The New Saints 


Tier 2 South (8 Applicants) 

  • Aberdare Town
  • Aberaman 
  • Baglan BG Junior
  • Coed Duon Welfare
  • Cwmbran Celtic
  • Dafen Welfare 
  • FC Talycopa 
  • Pontardawe Town

Tier 2 North (14 applicants)

  • Airbus UK Broughton
  • Amlwch Town
  • Bangor 1876
  • Bethel 
  • Colwyn Bay
  • Connah’s Quay Nomads 
  • Denbigh Town
  • Llandudno 
  • Llanfair United
  • Llanystumdwy
  • North Football Association 
  • Northop Hall
  • Pwllheli 
  • Wrexham 

These 37 clubs will now enter the Phase 1 Licensing Process and must submit the relevant paperwork to the FAW by 26 March, which will then be reviewed by an independent First Instance Body in early April. 

Those clubs who meet the license criteria will then be invited to Phase 2 and will present their club development plans to a panel consisting of FAW, FAW Trust and independent experts for an assessment across the following key areas:

Awareness & Visibility: Clubs to play key role in raising the profile, increasing visibility, driving awareness and challenging perceptions around the Women’s game in Wales.  

Women in Football: Clubs to support women and girls to fulfil their potential on and off the field. 

Pathways: Clubs to provide a clear player pathway to the senior team. 

Sustainability & Growth: Clubs to have a clear development and growth plan. 

Player Development: Clubs to provide access to a high quality training programme and performance support to enable female players across all areas of Wales to reach their potential. 

Successful clubs will be provided with a development grant from the FAW. Tier 1 clubs will receive £6K per year for four years. Tier 2 clubs will receive a one-off grant of £3K for the 2021/22 season.

Following the conclusion of the process, the successful clubs will be announced at the end of May.