FAW Trophy Final Preview
12 April 2019

FAW Trophy Final Preview

Cefn Albion and Pontardawe Town head to Park Avenue, Aberystwyth on Saturday 13 April as the two teams compete in the final of the FAW Trophy (1.30pm).

Pontardawe Town v Cefn Albion


  • Saturday, 13 April 2019
  • Park Avenue, Aberystwyth 
  • Kick Off - 13:30
  • Download: Match Programme

Neither side has reached the final of the competition before and as a result there will be a new name on the trophy this weekend.

Cefn Albion of the Welsh National League Premier Division caused an upset in the semi-final as they came from behind to beat Welsh League Division Two outfit STM Sports 3-1 after extra-time at Latham Park, Newtown. 

“It's always good to have a cup run,” explained manager Steve Davies. “We're midway in the table so to reach both the final of the FAW Trophy and the final of the League Cup has been great for us this season. It's brilliant for the club and the community as a whole.” 

Victories over Johnstown Youth, Saltney Town, FC Nomads, Bow Street, Corwen and STM Sports have propelled Cefn Albion to national attention in the FAW Trophy this season, and they were well-supported at Latham Park for the semi-final.

Another big crowd is expected to follow the team from Cefn Mawr to the final on Saturday, and their support will add to what is already expected to be a great occasion for the two teams.

Welsh League side Pontardawe Town made light work of Bodedern Athletic in the semi-final, with striker Tom Blizzard scoring twice in the 4-0 victory.

Disposing of Morriston Town, Aberbargoed Buds, Abertillery Bluebirds, Swansea University and Plas Madoc on their way to reaching the last four meant that manager Andrew Stokes' side have had to do things the hard way, and he was keen to emphasise the benefits of entering the competition for the very first time this season.

“We’ve had a tough run of games to get here with a few difficult away ties,” he explained. “My background as a coach is in developing youngsters and we’ve introduced a few 16-year players into the senior squad this season, which is great for us. It might sound a bit cliché, but there’s a great togetherness in the squad, and we've got goals in our team as well.” 

The FAW Trophy has been competed for since 1890/91 when Wrexham Victoria first claimed success in the competition with a 4-1 victory over Flint Town at the Racecourse. Originally known as the Welsh Junior Cup until 1902, the title was changed to the Welsh Amateur Cup until 1974, and subsequently the FA Intermediate Cup. Since 1993 the competition has been known as the FAW Trophy. Conwy Borough are the current holders, beating Rhos Aelwyd 4-1 in the final last season.