Cymru squad announcement for #U19EURO qualifying round
6 November 2019

Cymru squad announcement for #U19EURO qualifying round

Cymru U19 manager Rob Edwards has named the 20-player squad for the #U19EURO qualifying round which will take place in Cardiff and Newport this month.

Cymru #U19EURO matches

13/11 - Cymru v Poland - Rodney Parade, Newport

16/11 - Cymru v Russia - Leckwith Stadium, Cardiff

19/11 - Cymru v Kosovo - Rodney Parade, Newport

KO 13:00 for all matches

Edwards’ side have been drawn against Russia, Poland and Kosovo and will look to emulate last year’s success where Cymru reached the #U19EURO elite round. Several players from last year’s tournament have been selected yet again, including Neco Williams, Morgan Boyes, Ryan Astley, Cameron Evans and Keenan Patten. New faces to the squad include Joe Low, Josh Thomas and Isaak Davies.

Cymru have prepared for the tournament with tough fixtures against Denmark, Norway and Austria. Edwards’ side lost the matches against Denmark and Norway on penalties but a two-leg friendly against Austria ended with a defeat and a 2-0 win at Dragon Park last month.

Each qualifying round group is played in single round-robin format at one of the teams selected as hosts after the draw. The 13 group winners, the 13 runners-up, and the third-placed team with the best record against the first and second-placed teams in their group advance to the elite round.

All Cymru U19 matches in the qualifying round are free to attend, with ticketless entry on the gate at both Rodney Parade, Newport and Leckwith Stadium, Cardiff.

The games we’ve had in our build-up have been very competitive and we expect exactly the same in this tournament. We have to play with no fear, there’ll be three different challenges, but the boys need to show that they can adapt game by game. These players have been involved in the intermediate teams for the last 6/7 years so it’s great so many of them progress at both international and club level.

– Rob Edwards
U19 Squad Nov 19.jpg

Daniel BARDEN (Norwich City), Lewis WEBB (Swansea City), Tivonge RUSHESHA (Swansea City), Joe LOW (Bristol City), Luca HOOLE (Bristol Rovers), Neco WILLIAMS (Liverpool), Morgan BOYES (Liverpool), Ryan ASTLEY (Everton), Cameron EVANS (Swansea City), Harry PINCHARD (Cardiff City), Keenan PATTEN (Cardiff City – On loan with Pen-y-Bont), Scott SMITH (Wigan Athletic), Rhys HUGHES (Everton), Joe ADAMS (Brentford), Sam PEARSON (Bristol City), Sam BOWEN (Cardiff City), Dan Griffiths (Cardiff City – On loan with Pen-y-Bont), Isaak DAVIES (Cardiff City), Christian NORTON (Southampton), Josh THOMAS (Swansea City)