Cymru squad announced for #U17EURO qualifying round
4 October 2019

Cymru squad announced for #U17EURO qualifying round

The 20-player squad that will represent Cymru in the #U17EURO qualifying round in October has been announced.

#U17EURO Qualifying Round fixtures

Cymru v Slovenia (09/10 15:00)

Cymru v Netherlands (12/10 15:00)

Cymru v Kosovo (15/10 18:00)

All matches held in the Netherlands

The side will travel to the Netherlands where they will face the hosts as well as Slovenia and Kosovo. The tournament will be manager Richard Williams’ first competitive matches as Cymru U17s manager, having stepped up from previously being in charge of the U15 squad with the FAW Trust.

Williams’ side travelled to Bosnia-Herzegovina last month for two warm-up matches. Cymru recorded two narrow losses but Williams says the experience was ideal preparation ahead of the qualifying round.

We were able to work on a game plan in Bosnia-Herzegovina for the tournament and those games will be used to help the players better understand when things went well and also where we need to improve. Young players all develop at differing rates so based on having a clear understanding of this we were able to pick a balanced squad that we hope will give a good account of themselves.

– Richard Williams

The top two in every group, along with the four third-placed sides with the best records against the leading pair, will follow top seeds Spain and England into the elite round in March 2020, drawn on 3 December.

Max WILLIAMS (Salford City), Ben COLEY (Cardiff City), Keelan WILLIAMS (Liverpool), Matthew BAKER (Gillingham), Robson SHIPLEY (Huddersfield), Jay WILLIAMS (Fulham), Cian WILLIAMS (Wrexham), Harry JONES (Arsenal), Aidan MACNAMARA (Cardiff City), Jac CLAY (Cardiff City), Taylor JONES (Cardiff City), Charlie SAVAGE (Manchester United), Joshua EDWARDS (Swansea City), Joe PORTON (Bristol City), Marcus DACKERS (Brighton & Hove Albion), Patrick JONES (Huddersfield), Liam HIGGINS (Everton), Ryan VIGGARS (Sheffield United), Omar CLARKE (Bristol City), Caleb HUGHES (Cardiff City)