Club Licensing Applicants confirmed for the Genero Adran Leagues
13 January 2022

Club Licensing Applicants confirmed for the Genero Adran Leagues

The FAW Club Licensing Tier 1 and Tier 2 applicants for the 2022/23 season of women’s football have now been confirmed with 29 clubs submitting applications. 

A  Tier 1 Licence is required to participate in the Genero Adran Premier, with a Tier 2 Licence needed to play in Genero Adran North and Genero Adran South. 

Club Licensing was introduced in Tier 1 of Women’s football for the first time in 2020, with 11 teams applying. In 2021 minimum requirements were also introduced for Tier 2 clubs. The open application process saw 37 teams applying to be part of the new pyramid structure with 24 making up the new top tier of the pyramid. 

For the 2022/23 season 14 teams have applied for a Tier 1 Licence, consisting of the current eight members of the Genero Adran Premier, in addition to five applicants from Genero Adran South and one applicant from Genero Adran North. 

A further 15 clubs applied for a Tier 2 Licence, including five from Tier 3 who are seeking the opportunity to be promoted, demonstrating the commitment of clubs across the women’s game to develop on and off the pitch. 

Clubs will have until 25 March to show they meet the Club Licensing criteria, which will be assessed by an independent panel of experts that form the First Instance Body on 7 April. 


UEFA Licence Applicants:

  • Aberystwyth Town
  • Cardiff City
  • Cardiff Met
  • Swansea City


Tier 1 Licence Applicants:

  • Abergavenny
  • Aberystwyth Town
  • Barry Town
  • Briton Ferry Llansawell
  • Caldicot
  • Cardiff City
  • Cardiff Bluebelles
  • Cardiff Met
  • Cascade
  • Connah’s Quay Nomads
  • Pontypridd Town
  • Port Talbot Town
  • Swansea City
  • The New Saints


Tier 2 Licence Applicants:

  • Airbus UK Broughton
  • CPDM Bangor 1876
  • Bethel 
  • Denbigh Town
  • Llandudno
  • Llanfair United
  • Llangefni Town
  • Merthyr Town
  • Newport City
  • Pontardawe Town
  • CPD Pwllheli
  • CPD Y Rhyl 1879
  • Swansea University 
  • Talycopa
  • Wrexham