Belgians end Welsh hopes of UEFA qualification
5 October 2018

Belgians end Welsh hopes of UEFA qualification

Three first half goals for Belgium ended Welsh hopes of progressing through to the Elite Round of the 2019 UEFA Women's U19s competition.


Belgium 3-1 Wales

  • FFA Academy Stadium, Yerevan
  • Goals: Dhondt (2') L Petry (18'), G Vanaenrode (25'), T De Groote (43')

Belgium took the lead only two minutes into the game as a cross whipped in from the right was met by Kaily Dhondt. Wales quickly regrouped and started putting pressure on themselves but Lauren Smith's side suffered another setback only fifteen minutes later as a Belgium corner ended in a goalmouth scramble with Lisa Petry finding the back of the net.

Despite the further setback, Wales continued to test the Belgian defence and Lauren Smith's side were rightfully rewarded after 25 minutes. A corner in from the left hand side was met by a powerful Elise Hughes header, taking a deflection off Gwyneth Vanaenrode and into the top corner. Wales looked like they were going into the second half with just a goal deficit but Belgium turned the game into their favour even more as Wales failed to clear a corner effectively and Talitha De Groote slotted the ball into the bottom corner from outside of the box.



Knowing at least a point was needed to ensure qualification hopes stayed alive, Lauren Smith made several changes in the second half in order to keep the side's attacking energy, introducing Emily Jones, Nia Rees and Rhianne Oakley to the match. Wales pushed for a way back in to the game forcing Belgium into conceding several corners and dangerous set pieces but they were unable to find the breakthrough that was needed in what remained a goalless second half.

With Belgium and Iceland both on six points and taking the top two places in the group, Lauren Smith's side will now face Armenia on Monday to decide who finishes third.

Wales: 1. O Clark, 2. F Morgan (c), 3. L Woodham (17 R Oakley 85'), 4. L Carpanini, 15. S Dukes, 6. T Sibanda, 7. E Powell , 8. C Williams, 9. G Horrell (13 E Jones 46'), 10. E Hughes, 11. C Pike (16. N Rees 75')